Meet the City of Fort Wright 
Management Team


Jill Cain Bailey, C.A.O., City of Fort Wright

Ms. Bailey was appointed as the City Administrative Officer with the City of Fort Wright in May of 2018.

As City Administrator, Ms. Bailey serves as the Chief Administrative Officer of the City and is primarily responsible for carrying out the policies established by the Mayor and members of the Fort Wright City Council, overseeing day-to-day activities of the City, and supervising City Department Heads. Ms. Bailey also serves as the Personnel Director, Alcohol & Beverage Control Officer and Public Relations Officer of the City. Additional responsibilities include: economic development, financial management, policy formulation, and special project/construction oversight. She is appointed by Fort Wright Mayor Dave Hatter and works under his general guidance and direction.

Ms. Bailey is also a member of the International City Management Association (ICMA), Past President of the Kentucky City/County Management Association (KCCMA), Past President of the Northern Kentucky City/County Management Association (NKCCMA), former Chair of the Northern Kentucky Regional Ethics Authority; Past Board Member of the Covington–Kenton County Jaycees; Past President of the Erpenbeck Elementary PTA; former Junior Achievement Volunteer; and 2019 graduate of Leadership Northern Kentucky.

Previously, Ms. Bailey served as the City Administrative Officer with the City of Taylor Mill for approximately 23 years overseeing the multifaceted suburban community with revenues and expenses exceeding 4 million dollars annually. She also was employed as a staff assistant to former U.S. Senator Wendall Ford and as a Customer Service Supervisor for Huntington National Bank of Northern Kentucky. She is a graduate of Northern Kentucky University with a bachelor's degree in Political Science and a minor in Speech Communications.

Ms. Bailey is a recipient of the 2002 City Administrator of the Year Award (Early Careerist Category) by the Greater Cincinnati Chapter of the American Society for Public Administration; the 2011 Outstanding Women of the Year Award presented by Toyota, NKU, Thomas More College, and Gateway Community College; and a 2008 and 2015 recipient of the City Administrator of the Year Award presented by the Northern Kentucky City/County Management Association.

She resides in Boone County with her two children.


Jonathan Colwell, Interim Chief of Police, City of Fort Wright

Jonathan Colwell was appointed Interim Police Chief on December 1st, 2019.  Interim Chief Colwell started his law enforcement career in 2003 at the Kenton County Jail.  While at the Jail he was The Captain of the Jail Operations Division, Tactical Response Team Commander, Training Director, Field Training Program Coordinator and Professional Standards Investigator.  This position was responsible for over 100 Full Time Jail Officers.  He came to the Fort Wright Police Department in 2012.  While at the Fort Wright Police, he has taken an active role in the operations of the department including departmental accreditation and staff training.  Interim Chief Colwell has been involved in every community outreach program that the police department offers such as the Women’s Self Defense Class, Bike Rodeo, Active Shooter Training, Shop with a Cop and is seen regularly inside of the city schools interacting with the children and teaching classes on drug awareness and safety. 

Interim Chief Colwell is currently the Commander for the Northern Kentucky Regional Honor Guard.  The NKY Regional Honor Guard has completed numerous special details throughout the Commonwealth.  Most recently in the last year at the Police Memorial Ceremony in Covington, The National Lifesavers Conference in Louisville and the Veteran’s Day Ceremony in Fort Mitchell.  The NKY Regional Honor Guard is comprised of officers from numerous Law Enforcement agencies from Kenton, Boone and Campbell Counties. 

Interim Chief Colwell is from Union Kentucky and graduated from Ryle High School.  He is currently enrolled at Union Institute and University pursuing a degree in Organizational Leadership. 

Interim Chief Colwell resides in Union Kentucky with his wife Britni and their three children; Aiden, Olivia and Maddox.


Steve Schewe, Fire Chief, City of Fort Wright

Stephen Schewe was appointed Fire/EMS Chief September 12, 2001. Chief Schewe became a Firefighter for the City of Fort Wright in 1984 and a Kentucky certified EMT in 1985, Over his career he has served as a Firefighter/EMT, Fire Inspector and Fire Lieutenant prior to becoming Chief. He also served as a member of City council from 1992 thru 1998. He holds an A.A.S. in Fire Science, is a National Registry EMT since 1998, Deputy Kentucky State Fire Marshall, Kentucky State Certified Fire Inspector, Kentucky Level 1 Fire Service Instructor, International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) Firefighter I and II. He also holds a diploma from the Kentucky Community and Technical College System in Basic Firefighter, Advanced Firefighter and Fire Chief. Chief Schewe is also a certified Hazardous Materials Technician.

Chief Schewe has been a lifelong resident of The City of Fort Wright.


Jeff Bethell, Public Works Director, City of Fort Wright

Jeff Bethell was hired as the City of Fort Wright’s Public Works Director on December 6, 2017.

Jeff has been with the department since September 18, 2005 starting as a Maintenance Worker until May 3, 2017 when he was appointed Senior Maintenance Worker. He previously worked for nine years as a crew leader for a local landscaping company. In addition, Jeff also has 22 years’ experience in snow removal.

Jeff was raised in Fort Mitchell, and is the fourth generation of his family raised there. His parents still reside there today. Jeff attended Beechwood School and graduated in 1996. He currently lives in Union, KY with his wife and three children.